Tryton as headless-erp or erp-framework

Hello community, newbie here.

I started learning Tryton recently. I have to say that it’s no easy to start but if you are patient and you dig in the forum, documentation, code… you can find answers.

I’m trying to build an internal tool that uses Tryton as headless-erp?, web-framework?, erp-framework?.. I don’t know how to call it but basically the idea is to take advantage of what Tryton already offers (much more of what I need) and create a simpler user interface adapted to mobile screen, that uses few modules like Party, Products and Sales. This would be used by non-technical users and the regular tryton-desktop client for the most advanced ones.

My approach is based on flask_tryton but I’m not sure if it’s a good idea since I saw that there were already similar attempts before:

And specially since I read that there are plans to replace flask-tryton with REST API.

I know that there are integrations like Vue Storefront (not exactly what I’m looking for) but I would like avoid JS due to the fatigue and use simpler (old school) solutions like unpoly or htmx

So… what do you think? Is it worth it to continue or should I look for a different approach?

Hello @Joans,
welcome on board! Good to have you here.

Did you try Sao, - our web-client, - on a mobile screen? E.g. Tryton

You can use the access permissions to limit the non-technical users. You can simplify/specify the functionality with additional custom modules. The sao webclient can be easily tweaked to your taste with a custom.css file. And of course Sao can be improved.

Hello,

The name of headless erp is called Tryton server, or trytond for its technical name.

The name of an internal tool that uses Tryton as headless-erp is called Tryton client. Existing clients are tryton, sao and proteus.

If your application does more than using Tryton server, then it is called a Client application.