Make a new database via the client using a predefined template or copy an existing database

Hello! It is my first time in this forum, and I come from the GNUHealth community. My question: Would it be possible to have a feature in the Tryton-client, that would just make a new database via the client, if I am already connected to a database? So that in fact it makes just a copy of the current database, or uses the same template of the current database, that was used during the first installation of that database?
IMHO that would be great and would help a lot for preconfiguring a database and then use the database-copies for different purposes, e.g. demo, production, testing, and so on … As far as I know such a feature existed in the past, but was then deleted due to security concerns. If this is the case, what are these concerns exactly? (Because for me it was possible to make a new database only with the help of experts, and I documented the way on my homepage in German, if somebody is interested.) Thank you very much!

You may be interested in the (unofficial) dbcopy module.

Hope it helps!

1 Like

Thank you, albert, that looks promising!

First copying a production database may have some problems for example you will have the production payment credential (Stripe, Braintree etc.). Also you may send email to real customer with the notification_email by mistake. Etc.

Such feature requires that the database user used by trytond to connect to the PostgreSQL server has the right to manage databases (create, drop etc.) This is not a good practice because if a security issue is found that allow to execute SQL queries, an attacker could drop the database for example.